Feeling Left Out of the Review Game

I’ve just shelved my Pom Pom’s after waving them about to celebrate yet another ‘Whee I just got a review’ announcement from one of my fellow writers at Dreamspinner. “Yeah, way to go, good for you, congrats, you’re so lucky!” (Wave, wave, wave). That was more than fine with me when I was waiting in the wings, on deck, only a bridesmaid, waiting to step up to the plate, not in the game yet, but now I am….

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind doing it, and I’m really happy some excellent writers it has been my good fortune to get to know in the last few months are enjoying success with their own works and are getting recognition for them. That’s really great. I don’t begrudge them either. I also realize as a brand-new kid to this party it takes time to get a name for yourself, for the word to get around about you and your work and your books, but still I can’t help feeling, after all this watching and pom pom waving on behalf of everyone else, now I’ve finally got my own book to throw into the pot, well, geez, I want to play too!

I know, I know it hasn’t even been two weeks yet since my book was released, but call me crazy and possibly naïve, I thought maybe by now someone would’ve noticed it? Possibly? I don’t think it sucks that bad. I don’t think it sucks at all. But I’m a little bit bewildered with all these reviews flying around me all the other writers are talking about getting, how come I’m not getting any? ( aside from the not getting any being the story of my life pretty much across the board right now, but we won’t get into that.)

Am I doing something wrong? Is there some sort of secret society you have to belong to in order to qualify? Does someone have to vouch for you? Pass your name along for consideration? I don’t know I’m just thinking out loud, here. Whatever the rules are I don’t know them, but I’d like to learn.

Hello out there! Clueless Author with a brand shiny new book who’d really like for someone to review it, here! Anyone who has any suggestions for how I can make that happen, who I need to talk to, what I need to do to get noticed and considered ( within reason. Though I would like a review or two I’m not desperate or crazy. I’m also not whining. 0K, maybe I am whining a little bit. A tad. I’ll give you that.)

Where was I.? Right, reviews. Would really like some. Would really like to know how to get some. Would really appreciate somebody, anybody noticing her book. Even if they hate it.

Sniff….

Thanks for listening.

6 thoughts on “Feeling Left Out of the Review Game

  1. Erm. *feels guilty about not reading book yet*

    Does DSP submit books to Reviews by Jessewave for review? There’s also Three Dollar Bill Reviews – I’d check both of those sites to see what they have on how to submit books for review.

    The Goodreads M/M Romance group has a thread for author self promotion.

    I do promo/giveaways at Stumbling Over Chaos – I will bump your book up and read it next. If I really like it, I would be honored to host a promo/giveaway.

    Whew!

  2. Awwww, I didn’t mean to make anyone feel guilty about it. I realize I’m probably being a great big whiny baby about all of this, but it’s just so weird to spend all that time on something, have it go out there and then… ( cue sounds of crickets chirping).

    I honestly don’t know what DSP does with regards to promoting books. The whole process is just one big? To me at the moment. Which is kind of the reason why I’m crying out to the void here, “what am I supposed to dooooo?”

    I’m serious, whatever I need to do; if that means giving away review copies or whenever, I mean, you know if that’s how the game is played, fine but I’m not going to just say I’ll give a free copy to anyone who wants to review my book” because you know how that’s gonna turn out! Snort! I also know it’s a jungle out there, and your moment in the spotlight, and window of opportunity to reach the buying public is short. Everything helps.

    And I also know we are only as good as our last success. Or should that be next? Either way I need to get back to doing some writing.

    Thanks for your help on really appreciate it! Love you mean it!

  3. No, definitely not review copies to everyone! 🙂

    Um, maybe you could participate in Ethan Day’s “Gay Day” on his Yahoo Group? It’s generally the last Sunday of the month and it’s a crazy wild conversation, with excerpts, discussion, etc. You would definitely get a lot of exposure! Authors such as PA Brown, ZA Maxfield, and more participate.

  4. try joining goodreads- it’s a website for both readers and authors to share their reviews of books and books they’ve written. and surprise! you already have an author page there:
    http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4117859.Phoenix_Emrys
    🙂 towards the bottom of the page there’s a link to click if you’re the author & they’ll get you set up.

    now, this is mainly for your average reader- so these reviews aren’t going to show up in NYT or anything- but a few of the members have popular blogs and post their reviews from the blogs directly onto goodreads as well.

    there’s a m/m group there that’s very supportive of authors… http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/20149.M_M_Romance although i’m fairly certain you both have to join goodreads (read: supply an email & a password) and request permission to join the group b/c threads within can be NC17. But as an author, it’s a great networking group- you can unashamedly pimp out your book in that group (kind of like how i’m currently pimping goodreads).

    You can also (somehow, not sure the procedure) give out free copies of the book for review purposes through the site (to check out what is currently up for grabs: http://www.goodreads.com/book/explore then click on the ‘giveaway tab’)

    and dont feel poorly- without even being a member there it looks like about 20 people so far have your book marked as either ‘reading’ or ‘to read’ and there have been 2 ratings/reviews…

    and despite the rather “click on me!! follow this link to your wildest dreams!!” quality of this post, i neither work for goodreads nor do i get anything out of recruiting new members 😉

Leave a Reply

