Foot on Another Learning Curve

Yesterday, I took what was for me in absolutely stupendous step. I purchased a little piece of software I’ve had my eye on for quite a while courtesy of a gift card I received from Future Shop a couple of weeks ago. This little piece of software to which I am referring is called Dragon Naturally Speaking. I purchased it, I brought it home, and installed it on my little machine here, and these words you are looking at right now? My lily white fingers did not touch keyboard to produce them. Yes, it’s all happening literally word-of-mouth; I speak into the microphone and words magically appear on the screen. Just like Terri Garr on Star Trek. Very cool. Seriously.

True, when it comes to being the master of this little bit of marvelous technology I have a long way to go. Even now I can see I’m going to have to go back and do some tidying of text. There are few words the software isn’t reading correctly, and I keep forgetting to tell it to add the appropriate punctuation at the proper places. But I expect it and I will get better with practice. I have a lot to learn but so far I am enjoying the results, so I think taking the time it’ll take for me to figure out how to use this properly is going to be worth the effort. Only time will tell.

Excuse me, I think I’m off to not type a few pages on whatever it is I’m ultimately going to be working on today.

Leave a Reply

